Fish in a Huge Pond

By Christine Bienes

After 13 years of sheltered education and 18 years of having little to no control of your
own life, you are sent off to college where everything changes. Your education is finally your own to decide and so is the life that you chose to lead. All your decisions, both big and small, are finally solely yours to make. The transfer from being a big bad senior in high school to being a fish in a huge pond as a freshman in college is a hard but exciting one to make. It is safe to say that the Leadership and Community Engagement LLC and the people in it made that transfer for me a thousand times easier.

I am originally from a small town in upstate New York and came from a graduating class
of 40. In my small town everyone knew everything about everybody and there was little to no diversity. I knew from the moment I started looking into colleges that I wanted a big school with a lot of diversity, that was near a big city, and was a good distance away from home. George Mason fit that bill perfectly and the LLC was just the icing on the cake. In my small town it was difficult to find people that had similar viewpoints to yours and my opinions and outlook on life is something that set me apart from others. Coming to this LLC I found people who weren’t afraid to speak their minds and stand up for what they believe in. Who push past boundaries and are willing to have really deep and thought provoking discussions with you. Coming into this LLC has changed me for the better and I am so fortunate to live with and know everyone on this floor.

I recommend every incoming freshman and even upperclassmen to consider joining a
living learning community. It is an experience like no other and I will forever cherish the
memories I made on this floor. College is really full of endless opportunities and living learning communities are just a small part of them.

Leave a Reply

